# Section One, Inc. Center for Interscholastic Athletics



# Special Meeting of the Athletic Council

June 15, 2022

Voting Members	Representative
President (or designee – 1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President)	James Mackin
Conference I Athletic Director	Andy Guccione
Conference I Athletic Director	Joe Luzzi
Conference I Athletic Director	Steve Young
Conference I Principal	Brett Miller (Absent)
Conference II Athletic Director	Mike Arias
Conference II Athletic Director	Dan Belfi
Conference II Athletic Director	Chris Galano
Conference II Principal	Rudy Arietta
Conference III Athletic Director	Joe Ceglia
Conference III Athletic Director	Chris Drosopoulos
Conference III Athletic Director	Denise Kiernan
Conference III Principal	Joe Palumbo
At-Large Athletic Director (Class D)	Andrine Trotman
Championship Committee Co-Chair	Tom Baker / Adam Lodewick (Absent)
Non-Voting Members	Representative
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President, Athletic Director	Joe Sigillo
Superintendent Liaison to Athletic Council	Anthony DiCarlo (Absent)
Executive Director, CIA/Treasurer	Todd Santabarbara
Assistant Director, CIA/Assistant Treasurer	Jesse Merchant
Recording Secretary	Stacy Chimento (Absent)
Guests	
Athletic Director, Nyack Public Schools	Joe Sigillo
Superintendent of Schools, Nyack Public Schools	Eudes Budhai
Athletic Director, Pearl River School District	Arthur McCormack
Superintendent of Schools, Pearl River School District	Dr. Marco Pochintesta
Legal Council, Pearl River School District	David Shaw

## I. Call Business Meeting to Order

### II. Approval of the Business Agenda

(A) Consider approval of the agenda

Motion to approve the agenda: Trotman / Kiernan **Carried**: Aye=13 Nay=0 Abstention=0

#### **III.** NYSPHSAA Report: Dr. Robert Zayas, NYSPHSAA Executive Director

(A) Consider approval of the July 27-28 NYSPHSAA Executive Committee agenda items Susan Reid & Rob Pollok, Section 1 Female & Male NYSPHSAA AD Rep

(I) Nominations for NYSPHSAA Superintendent Representative

#### IV. Mergers/Combining of Teams

(A) Consider approval of the merger requests for the 2022-23 school year *Jesse Merchant, Assistant Director* 

Motion to approve the merger requests for the 2022-23 school year: Baker / Trotman **Carried**: Aye=12 Nay=0 Abstention=0

#### V. Standing Committee Reports

<u>Championship Committee</u>, *Tom Baker / Adam Lodewick, Co-Chair* (A) Consideration to eliminate awarding bonus points for independent teams

(A) Consider awarding two additional bonus points based on number of sport-specific games played

(A) Consider increasing the number of qualifying teams to 24 when 20 or more teams are seeded

Motion to table all three Championship proposals: Baker / Belfi Carried: Aye=12 Nay=0 Abstention=0

#### VI. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn: Trotman / Guccione Carried: Aye=12 Nay=0 Abstention=0