Employee of the Year

Recognition Cevemony



Celebrating 29 Years of Excellence

January 18, 2017

## **Guiding Principles**

#### **BELIEF**

Every student can learn.

#### **VISION**

Every student is prepared for success in college, career and community.

#### **MISSION**

Every student will engage in rigorous, relevant, standards-based instruction in every classroom, every day, to ensure student learning.

#### CORE VALUES

Character, Leadership, Innovation, Continuous Improvement.

Every Student, Every Classroom, Every Day!

# Special Thanks

Ace Trophy Larson Brothers Photography Central High School Central High School Choir Central Unified Child Nutrition Central Unified School District Duplication Central Unified School District Facilities All participants and support staff that helped make this evening a success.

Thank you for your continued support!

# Program

Congratulations to the 2017 Employee of the Year Honorees!



Welcome	Mark G. Sutton, Superintendent
Singing of our National Anthem	Central High School Choir
Flag Salute	Zulema Betancourt
Employee of the Year Award Presentations	Jack Kelejian Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources
Closing Remarks	Jack Kelejian

#### Board of Trustees

Mr. Cesar Granda President Trustee Area 1

Mr. Ruben Coronado, CPA Vice-President Trustee Area 2

> Mr. Rama Dawar Board Clerk Trustee Area 7

Mr. Richard Atkins Trustee Area 4

Mr. Phillip Cervantes Trustee Area 3

> Mrs. Terry Cox Trustee Area 6

Mr. Richard A. Solis Trustee Area 5



Sara Pokorny 6th Grade Teacher Liddell Nominated by: Charlene Graham



Loan Pratt 2<sup>nd</sup> Grade Teacher Houghton Kearney Nominated by: Marci Brekke



Certificated Nominees



Kristine Rubenstein Instructional Support Coach -Technology Education Services Nominated by: Instructional Coaches



Helen Schmidt 4th Grade Teacher Teague Nominated by: Teague Administration

C.L.A.S.S.



**Jaime Schulze** Social Science Teacher Central East Nominated by: Central East Staff



Sue Streeter Michael Swezey 9th-12th Grade Teacher 4th Grade Teacher Roosevelt Nominated by: JoJo Reyes, Ed.D. Nominated by: Michelle Vargas



Lori Severt 2nd Grade Teacher Liddell Nominated by: Charlene Graham



Brenda Tillema Instructional Support Coach Herndon Barstow Nominated by: Sandi Morehead

### Certificated Nominees



Katy Gobble TK Teacher Teague Nominated by: Teague Administration



<u>Chris Golden</u> Music Teacher El Capitan Nominated by: Jeff Wimp



Isabel Hernandez 3<sup>rd</sup> Grade Teacher Steinbeck Nominated by: Esther Kaercher



Steven Holdridge Vocational Education Teacher Central West Nominated by: Central West Staff



Dina Heggen Teacher Pathway Nominated by: Maisie Young & Kevin Torosian



<u>Aaron Klein</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher Polk Nominated by: Geoff Garratt



Shannon Monroe Instructional Support Coach River Bluff Nominated by: River Bluff Staff



<u>Ellery Moore</u> Social Science Teacher Rio Vista Nominated by: Cindy Alikian & Micah Johnson



Hillary Perry Social Science Teacher Glacier Point Nominated by: Heather Kuyper

### Superintendent Cabinet

Mark G. Sutton Superintendent

Dr. Laurel Ashlock Assistant Superintendent, Chief Academic Officer

Ketti Davis Assistant Superintendent, Professional Development

Jack Kelejian Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources

Kelly Porterfield Assistant Superintendent, Chief Business Officer

> Paul Birrell Director, 7 – 12 & Adult Education

Dr. Tami Boatright Director, K – 8 Education

Andrea Valadez Administrator, Special Education & Support Services

#### Administrator Nominees

### Certificated Nominees



<u>Michelle Bergmann</u> Principal River Bluff Nominated by: River Bluff Staff

**Brad Edmunds** 

Assistant Principal / Director

Central East

Nominated by: Central East Staff



Joe Bracamonte Principal Rio Vista Nominated by: Brandi Fleming & Diana Haskins



<u>Carol Arendt</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher Tilley Nominated by: Karen Davis



<u>Teneecia Brannon</u> 6<sup>th</sup> Grade Teacher Teague Nominated by: Teague Administration



Phyllis English Kindergarten Teacher Madison Nominated by: Christine Pennington & Jackie Oliver



Angel Arroyo RSP Teacher Pathway Nominated by: Nick Hustedde



<u>Tim Berg</u> Business Teacher Central West Nominated by: Del Brooks



Diane "Dee Dee" Dowding TK Teacher Saroyan Nominated by: Patricia McCurley & Erin Gunstream



<u>Geoff Garratt</u> Principal Polk Nominated by: Evelyn Shu



Monica Breceda

1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher

McKinley

Nominated by: McKinley Staff

<u>Anne Franco</u> Kindergarten Special Education Teacher Harvest Nominated by: Harvest Staff



<u>Cindy Escandon</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher Biola Pershing Nominated by: George Finocchio

### **Classified Nominees**

### Administrator Nominees

#### Not Pictured:

Lynn Andresen Instructional Aide Houghton Kearney Nominated by: Marci Brekke Irma Damiani Lead Student Liaison Central East Nominated by: Central East Staff

Stephanie Edgbert Yard/Noon Duty Aide McKinley Nominated by: Colette Bolger



Jason Horsman Director, Education Technology Educational Services Nominated by: Instructional Coaches



**Jill Young** Guidance Instructional Advisor Pershing / Pathway Nominated by: Nick Hustedde

Patricia Hernandez

Site Director – Learning Partners Teague Afterschool Program Nominated by: Teague Administration Joyce Hirata Special Education Aide II Harvest Nominated by: Harvest Staff Sonia Mendoza Special Education Aide I Central West Nominated by: Central West Staff

#### Not Pictured:

<u>Sal Breton</u> Guidance Instructional Advisor El Capitan Nominated by: Jeff Wimp

Hortencia Rocha

Yard / Noon Duty Aide Tilley Nominated by: Karen Davis <u>Amanda Stroman</u> Special Education Aide III Polk

Nominated by: Virginia Norvise

#### **Classified Nominees**

#### Classified Nominees



Angie Aguirre Attendance Secretary El Capitan Nominated by: Jeff Wimp & Ann Chavez



<u>Maria Alvarez</u> Yard/Noon Duty Aide Madison Nominated by: Christine Pennington & Jackie Oliver



Nancy Anderson Site Director – Learning Partners Herndon Barstow Nominated by: Sandi Morehead & Stephanie Nelson



La Vonda "LJ" Johnson Journeyman Tradesworker Maintenance Nominated by: Kathy Arnold



**Julie McMasters** Principal's Secretary Glacier Point Nominated by: Adam Hogan



Imelda Medina Library Media Tech II Pershing/Pathway Nominated by: Nick Hustedde



<u>**Tina Bruno**</u> Clerical Assistant II Special Education Nominated by: Monica Peterson



Rosemary Cabrera Instructional Aide C.L.A.S.S. Nominated by: JoJo Reyes, Ed.D.



Lupe Chavez Principal's Secretary Biola Pershing Nominated by: Michael Ota



Antonio Fragueiro Night Custodian Rio Vista Nominated by: Joe Bracamonte & Dan Salazar



<u>Megan Gatzka</u> Clerical Assistant II Liddell Nominated by: Andria Watterson



Sarah Grilione Instructional Aide – State Preschool Herndon Barstow Nominated by: Wendy Hernandez



<u>Stacy Morgan</u> Principal's Secretary River Bluff Nominated by: River Bluff Staff



Joe Sanchez Lead Custodian Teague Nominated by: Teague Administration



<u>Gladys "Laji" Wilson</u> Principal's Secretary Roosevelt Nominated by: Michelle Vargas